Board of Governors

The Board of Governors


Mr. D. Holmes (Chairman) - NEELB

Mrs. D. Wilkinson (Vice-chairperson) - NEELB

Mr. J. Harris (Secretary) - Principal (non-voting member)

Mrs. C. Forsythe - Teacher Representative

Mrs. J. McDonald - Transferor

Mrs. D. McClean - NEELB

Mrs. S Greer - Parents’ Representative

Mrs. R. Clarke - Parents’ Representative

Mr. T. Speers - Transferor

Mr. D. Mulholland - Transferor



Role of the Board of Governors


A Board of Governors manages all controlled schools. Each Board is constituted for a period of four years and a new Board was set up in the spring of 2014. Parents are entitled to elect two representatives to the Board and teachers elect one representative. Other members are nominated to serve as church or community representatives. The next Board of Governors will be appointed in the spring of 2018.


The Board of Governors of Portglenone Primary School is responsible for the effective management of the school and it meets at least once per term to fulfil that obligation. The governors are responsible for: -


·       The School Curriculum

·       Appointment and dismissal of staff

·       Control of the school budget

·       Admission of pupils to the school

·       Maintenance of the premises

·       Effective management of human and other resources

·       Provision of information to parents

·       Fostering links with the community and promoting EMU